JMac wins Krikke Boys race

James McFadden continued his dominant run in the Monte Motorsports W17 when he claimed the Krikke Boys Shootout at Bunbury Speedway on Saturday night that was also the Grand Final of the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series.

McFadden won the drama-filled 35-lap feature race from American Cory Eliason, Brooke Tatnell, David Murcott and Brad Maiolo.

JMac started from P3 in the final, with Tatnell occupying the front row alongside sentimental favourite Kerry Madsen in the Krikke Motorsport W2.

The feature race, in front of a huge Bunbury crowd, was only a few laps old when Jason Kendrick, who started P20, got crossed up coming out of pits bend and Todd Davis spun out when trying to avoid him.

By lap seven Madsen was into traffic and had increased his lead over Tatnell, McFadden and Eliason.

On unlucky lap 13 Ben Butcher and Kris Coyle were spinning around in pits bend as Madsen approached and he tagged Butcher’s car, cutting down his right rear tyre and ran over one of the tyres to mark the track’s infield, ending his campaign and the bid for Krikke Motorsport to win another Krikke Boys race.

This gave the lead to former race winner Tatnell who led from McFadden, Eliason, Murcott and Callum Williamson.

With just over 10 laps to go McFadden went around the outside of Tatnell for the lead and a couple of laps later Eliason also went around Tatnell, to settle into second.

McFadden held onto the lead and crossed the line 0.814 of a second in front of Eliason, with Tatnell 4.2 seconds off the leader as the race concluded.

Murcott, who was running the W95, a number that carries deep meaning for the Krikke Boys race, finished fourth after starting fifth.

Brad Maiolo, who started from P8, held a solid line for most of the event, taking fifth.

Jason Kendrick crossed the line in sixth place after starting from P20 and only just making the cut.

In doing so he wrapped up the Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series points for a third successive season.

Callum Williamson came out of P6 for the final and finished seventh and as a result he finished the series on equal third points.

Lynton Jeffery started the main event from P7 and finished eighth, while Andrew Priolo put in a huge effort also to finish ninth after he started from P17.

Mitchell Wormall started P11 and finished 10th and banked enough points to be second overall in the Maddington Toyota-backed series

Daniel Hartigan started P13 and finished 11th, ahead of Jason Pryde who started P16 and finished 12th, Todd Davis who started P14 and finished 13th and Cameron McKenzie who started P19 and finished 14.

Daniel Harding, who was the last non-finisher to drop out of the feature race, still claimed enough points to finish equal third on points with Williamson in the series.

Madsen started off the show in the best possible fashion with a 13.206 second lap topping qualifying over Murcott 13.456, McFadden (also 13.456), Tatnell 13.517 and Eliason 13.526.

Kendrick was a non-qualifier after he broke a cam drive in hot laps and was forced to start his heats from the rear of the pack.

Madsen won the first heat that was marred by Jamie Oldfield going on a wild ride coming out of turn two and belting the back straight fence.

The Oldfield Racing crew thrashed to get the W51 repaired in time for the feature where he was first reserve, but he didn’t get a start in the main event.

Murcott won the second heat, surviving a lunge on the line from Eliason who spun around and crossed the line third, with Williamson splitting the result.

Priolo dropped valuable points after he was a non-starter when the W8 dropped a plug lead.

Tatnell took the third in heat three, while Hartigan won the fourth heat by just 0.141 of a second over McFadden.

Priolo bounced back for a win in heat five, taking a big win over Butcher.

The final heat went to Harding and this race was marred by DNFs by Pryde and Coyle (who crashed hard and was in a race against time to rebuild the W79 for the feature).

Tasmanian Jock Goodyer was a casualty in the dashes, with the T22 slamming into the turn one fence hard, damaging the car’s front end and putting him out for the rest of the show.

Qualifying: Kerry Madsen 13.206, David Murcott 13.456, James McFadden 13.456, Brooke Tatnell 13.517, Cory Eliason 13.526, Jock Goodyer 13.571, Lynton Jeffrey 13.583, Andrew Priolo 13.625, Brad Maiolo 13.695, Brock Hallett 13.734, Kris Coyle 13.776, Mitchell Wormall 13.828, Todd Davis 13.831, Callum Williamson 13.857, Ben Butcher 13.863, Jason Pryde 13.870, Daniel Harding 13.933, Daniel Hartigan 13.954, Jamie Oldfield 14.002, Tom Callaghan 14.109, Cameron McKenzie 14.511. Jason Kendrick NTT.

Heat 1: 1st Kerry Madsen, 2nd Jock Goodyer, 3rd Lynton Jeffrey, 4th Mitchell Wormall, 5th Daniel Hartigan, 6th Todd Davis. DNF: Jamie Oldfield.

Heat 2: 1st David Murcott, 2nd Callum Williamson, 3rd Cory Eliason, 4th Kris Coyle, 5th Daniel Harding, 6th Tom Callaghan. DNS: Andrew Priolo.

Heat 3: 1st Brooke Tatnell, 2nd James McFadden, 3rd Brock Hallett, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th Ben Butcher, 7th Jason Pryde, 8th Cameron McKenzie.

Heat 4: 1st Daniel Hartigan, 2nd James McFadden, 3rd Kerry Madsen, 4th Brad Maiolo, 5th Lynton Jeffrey, 6th Cameron McKenzie, 7th Todd Davis. DNS: Jamie Oldfield.

Heat 5: 1st Andrew Priolo, 2nd Tom Callaghan, 3rd Ben Butcher, 4th Mitchell Wormall, 5th Brock Hallett, 6th Cory Eliason, 7th David Murcott.

Heat 6: 1st Daniel Harding, 2nd Callum Williamson, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Jock Goodyer. DNF: Jason Pryde and Kris Coyle.

Feature: 1st James McFadden, 2nd Cory Eliason, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th David Murcott, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th Jason Kendrick, 7th Callum Williamson, 8th Lynton Jeffrey, 9th Andrew Priolo, 10th Mitchell Wormall, 11th Daniel Hartigan, 12th Jason Pryde, 13th Todd Davis, 14th Cameron McKenzie. DNF: Daniel Harding, Kerry Madsen, Kris Coyle, Ben Butcher, Brock Hallett, Tom Callaghan. DNS: Jamie Oldfield and Jock Goodyer.

Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series top 25 points (after worst round dropped): Jason Kendrick 2398, Mitchell Wormall 2324, Daniel Harding, Callum Williamson 2296 each, Andrew Priolo 2288, Kris Coyle 2160, Jason Pryde 1632, Tom Callaghan 1586, Jamie Oldfield 1584, Ben Ellement 1540, Matthew Cross 1500, AJ Nash 1394, Ben Van Ryt 1300, Trevor Jolly 1280, Todd Davis 1178, Shaun Bradford 1094, Ben Butcher 1072, Taylor Milling 1024, Daniel Hartigan 1020, Kerry Madsen 966, Adrian Haywood 902, James Inglis 788, Ryan Lancaster 758, Aldo De Paoli 754.
Untitled 1
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Latest winners

Saturday, April 6, 2024

::  Super Speedway Grand Final

Saturday, March 30, 2024

::  Gold Cup/Sprintcar Easter Trail

Friday, March 29, 2024

::  Easter Trail Rd 1

Saturday, March 16, 2024

::  Silver Cup/WA Speedcar Title

Saturday, March 9, 2024

::  Mobil 1 Australian Speedcar Champiionship

carouFredSel: a circular, responsive jQuery carousel